Changes to the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee

By Petrina Smith
Monday, 09 February, 2015

The Minister for Health, Sussan Ley, has announced changes to the  Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee.
Dr Suzanne Hill, the Chair of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC),  will step down in March to take up a new role with the World Health Organization. The process to identify a new Chair has commenced.
Minister Ley said Dr Hill's leadership has seen the PBAC maintain its reputation as one of the premier technical and scientific advisory bodies in Australia.
“During Dr Hill’s time as chair, the PBAC recommended many important new and innovative medicines for conditions including Hepatitis C, advanced melanoma, and cystic fibrosis, all of which have improved the quality of life of thousands of Australians,” Ms Ley said.
“The role of the PBAC is a challenging one, navigating the difficult path of balancing the needs of patients, clinicians and industry with the complexities of making new and high cost medicines available for all Australians.
“Importantly, Dr Hill also strengthened the input of patients into the PBAC process, a goal which will continue to enrich the committee’s deliberations.”
Ms Ley also announced four new appointments to the PBAC.
Professor Robyn Ward and Professor Andrew Roberts, long standing members of the PBAC with expertise in oncology and haematology, have been re-appointed for an additional four years. Dr Elizabeth Marles and Dr Thomas Snelling have also been appointed to the PBAC for four years.

Related Articles

Report finds high use of antimicrobials in major cities

Sustained high use of antimicrobial medicines has been demonstrated in a five-year trend report...

Report reveals burden of non-melanoma skin cancer

A new report has revealed the unseen burden of non-melanoma skin cancer in Australia.

Queensland and Oxford: a tale of two vaccine agreements

CSL Limited has signed a heads of agreement for the supply of UQ's COVID-19 vaccine candidate...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd