New Regions to Deliver the Australian General Practice Training Program

By Petrina Smith
Thursday, 09 April, 2015

The Federal Government has announced 11 new regions to deliver the Australian General Practice Training Program.

The new training organisations will be spread out across the regions of Western Australia, Northern Territory, South Australia, North Western Queensland, South Eastern Queensland, North Eastern NSW, Western NSW, Lower Eastern NSW, Western Victoria, Eastern Victoria and Tasmania.

General Practice Registras Australia (GPRA) supports the plan to establish a new profession-led General Practice Training Advisory Committee to provide advice to the government on GP training policy and delivery. The advisory committee will include representatives from GPRA, RACGP, ACRRM, GPSA as well as an independent Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander GP.

“GPRA will support current and future general practice trainees during all stages of this process,” GPRA Chair Dr Jomini Cheong said. “We are dedicated to supporting those who are interested in applying into the new training organisations, and are also looking forward to making a substantial contribution to the new General Practice Training Advisory Committee.”

Related Articles

A Day in the Life of Royal Australian Navy officer, Lieutenant Commander Thomas Miller, a Nurse Educator

Lieutenant Commander Thomas Miller's work ensures that nursing staff are trained and...

HESTA announces 2020 Nursing & Midwifery Awards winners

HESTA has announced the winners of the 2020 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards,...

The surprising parallels between the worlds of aviation and health care

The similarities shared by an aircraft's flight deck and an operating theatre or medical unit...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd