Blair Comley appointed as DoHAC Secretary

Wednesday, 14 June, 2023

Blair Comley appointed as DoHAC Secretary

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese has recommended the Governor-General appoint Blair Comley PSM as Secretary of the Department of Health and Aged Care.

Comley, currently a director and partner at EY Port Jackson Partners, has had a distinguished career across the Commonwealth and NSW public sector, said a statement from the Prime Minister’s office.

Between 2011 and 2013, Comley was Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism and the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency. He then led the New South Wales Department of Premier and Cabinet as Secretary between 2014 and 2017.

“With his strong economic qualifications and proven leadership navigating complex issues, Mr Comley will bring innovation and policy rigour to addressing the challenges and opportunities within our health system,” the statement said.

Minister for Health and Aged Care Mark Butler welcomed the news and praised Comley’s extensive experience and record of proven leadership in navigating complex issues.

The five-year appointment begins on 17 July 2023, with Comley taking the reins as Secretary of the Department of Health and Aged Care following the retirement of Professor Brendan Murphy AC.

Murphy has been Secretary since 2020, after joining the department as Chief Medical Officer in 2016. He became well known to Australians throughout the pandemic as he led the department during its biggest public health response in over 100 years.

Image credit:

Related News

ANMF initiates work value case

The ANMF has filed a landmark application with the Fair Work Commission to increase award wages...

New project to reduce medication errors in hospitals

A new national project, involving pharmacists, patients and doctors, aims to reduce medication...

Aust Healthcare Week 2024: register now for your free pass

With more than 150 leading health sector speakers, over 100 sessions and two deep-dive master...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd