2023 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards — finalists announced

Thursday, 13 April, 2023

2023 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards — finalists announced

Nine finalists have been announced ahead of the 2023 HESTA Australian Nursing and Midwifery Awards in May 2023.

The finalists’ achievements are far-reaching and include a midwife recognised for being the driving force behind the implementation of an innovative Midwifery Group Practice model and a nurse who screened nearly 600 Queenslanders for liver disease, helping remove the barriers from access to vital health care.

Another finalist is an organisation that works to provide primary care and mental health services for Australians experiencing homelessness and poverty. It has had over 30,000 conversations and consultations with vulnerable Australians since 2018, reducing the number of people presenting to hospital and associated costs for local hospitals and health services.

HESTA CEO Debby Blakey praised the exceptional work of all the finalists and acknowledged the work of nurses and midwives around the country.

“Our nurses and midwives are the backbone of our healthcare system, and it is essential that we recognise and celebrate their contributions. They are on the frontline, providing care, comfort and support to patients and their families, often in challenging and demanding circumstances,” Blakey said.

“Congratulations to all nominees and finalists for their exceptional leadership and dedication. These finalists are all high achievers within their respective fields and these awards are an opportunity to acknowledge their hard work and say thank you for all that they do.”

These national awards — now in their 17th year — acknowledge the outstanding contribution Australia’s nurses, midwives, nurse educators, researchers and personal care workers make to improving health outcomes.

A group of industry experts from across the health and community services sector evaluated several exceptional nominations and chose finalists for the categories of Nurse of the Year, Midwife of the Year and Outstanding Organisation.

Long-time awards supporter ME has donated $30,000 in prize money to be split equally between the winners for professional development or to improve workplace services or processes.

ME CEO Martine Jager said the bank was thrilled to continue recognising the impressive efforts and achievements of these health professionals and emphasised their important work.

“Now more than ever we need to lift up our nurses, midwives and personal care workers and those who train them, so it’s an honour to be able to celebrate these incredible people and their achievements,” Jager said.

Winners will be revealed on 16 May 2023 at an awards ceremony in Sydney.


Midwife of the Year

Elizabeth Pitman — Hunter New England Health, Inverell, New South Wales

April Jardine — Dhelkaya Health, Castlemaine, Victoria

Nurse of the Year

Jeanette Tibbs — Hepatitis Queensland, Coorparoo, Queensland

Caitlin Clayer — Ti Tree Health Clinic, Ti Tree, Northern Territory

Fiona Hudson — Hunter New England Local Health District, Newcastle, New South Wales

Kathleen Hauth — Central Australian Aboriginal Congress, Alice Springs, Northern Territory

Outstanding Organisation

Sunny Street, Maroochydore, Queensland

MH Connext, Cannington WA

Monash Health, South-Eastern Melbourne, Victoria

Image caption: Sonia Martin, CEO & Co-founder, Sunny Street. Image: Supplied

Related News

Need for inclusivity in patient information systems: review

Patient record options available to medical practices and hospitals frequently merge sex and...

Device Technologies expands Asian footprint

Device Technologies Group, a provider of medical solutions, has entered into an agreement to...

$100 million to improve First Nations health infrastructure

The federal government has announced $100 million funding to support 33 Indigenous health...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd