Lung health clinicians and researchers recognised

Monday, 25 March, 2024

Lung health clinicians and researchers recognised

Leading lung health clinicians and researchers have been recognised at the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ) Annual Scientific Conference on the Gold Coast.

TSANZ President Professor Anne Holland congratulated the 14 winners of awards and scholarships for research and travel, and paediatric, women and Indigenous respiratory health workers. Holland thanked all the “hard-working members who have dedicated their careers to improving the lung health of Australians and New Zealanders”.

“This awards night is just one small way that TSANZ celebrates the achievements of our talented members who make an incredible difference to health outcomes across Australia and New Zealand.

“The calibre of this year’s recipients is outstanding, and each and every award winner should be incredibly proud of what they have achieved,” Holland said.

The 2024 TSANZ Respiratory Research Excellence award winners are:

  • TSANZ Janet Elder Travel Award — Early Career Ridhima Wadhwa, University of Technology Sydney
  • TSANZ Janet Elder Travel Award — Early Career Jingwen Zhang, School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne
  • TSANZ Janet Elder Travel Award — Mid Career Dr Dennis Thomas, Newcastle University
  • Boehringer Ingelheim NZ Lung Health Travel Award — Dr Amy O'Brien, Te Whatu Ora, Health New Zealand Waikato
  • LAM PhD Scholarship supported by TSANZ, LAM Aus Research Alliance, and LFA Hope Research Fund — Manav Sharma, University of Technology Sydney
  • TSANZ and NAC Asthma and Airways Career Development Fellowship — A/Prof Rachel Peters, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
  • TSANZ Past Presidents Scholarship Award — Dr Simone De Luca, RMIT University
  • TSANZ Peter Phelan Paediatric Research Award — Dr Gabriela Martins Costa Gomes, University of Newcastle
  • TSANZ Indigenous Respiratory Nurses — A/Prof Rebecca Disler, Monash University
  • Chiesi Advancing Women in Respiratory Health Award - ECR — Dr Megan Jensen, University of Newcastle
  • Chiesi Advancing Women in Respiratory Health Award - MCR — Dr Tracy Leong, Austin Health
  • TSANZ Robert Pierce Grant-in-Aid for Indigenous Lung Heath — Dr Leanne Rodwell, Queensland Health
  • Moderna Research Award for Lung Health - Respiratory Viruses — Dr Rhiannon Werder, The Royal Children’s Hospital
  • Moderna Research Award for Lung Health - Immunisation — Dr Arwel Jones, Monash University

Image credit: Suwanmake

Related News

Non-invasive 'virtual' biopsy for skin cancer diagnosis

Researchers have developed a new imaging method that allows clinicians to analyse the skin...

UTI vaccines could prevent infection for nine years

MV140 is a new vaccine for recurrent UTIs and is administered with two sprays of a...

What's the key to retaining rural GPs?

Understanding doctors' decisions to stay or leave, once recruited, could provide insights on...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd