Australia's best nurses and midwives: the search begins

Tuesday, 23 November, 2021

Australia's best nurses and midwives: the search begins

HESTA has begun its national search for Australia’s most exceptional nurses and midwives by opening nominations for the 2022 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards.

HESTA CEO Debby Blakey said nurses and midwives have been essential to keeping communities healthy and safe, particularly as the nation continues to battle the COVID-19 outbreak.

“Nurses and midwives have been so critical to our ongoing recovery from COVID-19. We wouldn’t be where we are today without them,” Blakey said.

“The positive impact they have had, and will continue to have, on patients’ lives is humbling. HESTA is truly honoured to help recognise these wonderful and dedicated professionals and help share their stories.

“I encourage all Australians to consider submitting a nomination and help show support for nurses and midwives and their achievements.”

Employers, colleagues and patients have until 6 February 2022 to nominate a nursing or midwifery professional who has demonstrated leadership and innovation, and pursued excellence to deliver high-quality patient care.

Longstanding awards supporter ME Bank is providing the $30,000 prize pool, to be split equally between the winners of each category — Nurse of the Year, Midwife of the Year and Outstanding Organisation.

Finalists will be announced on 12 April 2022 and winners revealed at the awards ceremony in Melbourne on 19 May 2022, pending COVID-19 safety restrictions.

Image caption: Shannon Philp 2021 Nurse of the Year. Image courtesy of HESTA.

Related News

Scholarships for six emerging nursing leaders

Six registered nurses based in rural Australia have been given the opportunity to lead change and...

Bone marrow nurse practitioner recognised

No stranger to the wards of the Queensland Children's Hospital, 18-year-old Megan, who has...

HESTA nurses and midwives awards — winners announced

Nurse practitioner Sue Hegarty has been revealed as the 2022 Nurse of the Year and Melanie Briggs...

  • All content Copyright © 2022 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd