Pharmacist of the Year Awards Announced

By Petrina Smith
Friday, 10 October, 2014

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has announced its award recipients for 2014.
NSW pharmacist Lindy Swain has been named the PSA Pharmacist of the Year for 2014 for her work as a clinician, innovator, teacher and researcher in rural areas, and in particular in improving the health outcomes of indigenous Australians.
As a clinical pharmacist at Bullinah Aboriginal Health Service Ms Swain provides patient counselling and medication reviews, GP advice, nurse and Aboriginal health work training and pharmacy liaison.
Ms Swain said it was a huge honour to receive the 2014 PSA Pharmacist of the Year award.
“Every day many pharmacists do amazing things and make a huge difference to people’s lives,” she said.
“They all deserve awards. I am so lucky as I love the work I do and am constantly inspired by the students, young pharmacists and Aboriginal patients I meet. “I hope the receipt of this award will assist me to raise awareness of the need for clinical pharmacists in Aboriginal Health Services.”
A Victorian academic pharmacist who has been one of the country’s leading drivers in developing Quality Use of Medicines standards as well as recognising the value of partnerships between pharmacists, GPs and patients has been named as the 2014 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Associate Professor Roller was recognised as one of the profession’s most effective and passionate advocates who has influenced the profession both academically and clinically through the development of a patient-focussed pharmacy course.
Associate professor Roller said he championed evidenced-based practice and professionalism in pharmacy.
“I think, I can sum up my attitude in the following way, I love my students and I love (warts and all), my profession of pharmacy,” he said.
"I feel, this award is awe-inspiring; but, I believe there are many more pharmacists out there who are equally worthy of this award.”
NSW rural pharmacist Taren Gill has been named the PSA Young Pharmacist of the Year for 2014 .
Ms Gill’s award also recognises her extensive aged care work and her university mentoring and teaching as well as her commitment to quality program development.
Ms Gill said: "I am so pleased that the PSA recognises the achievements of early career pharmacists and I am excited and humbled to be receiving this recognition.s

Related News

Scientists' plea: we can't ignore airborne spread of COVID-19

A group of scientists from varying disciplines around the world have appealed to world health...

SA research shows fentanyl safe for mothers in labour

Research from the University of South Australia shows that fentanyl is a safe option for mothers...

Melanoma immunotherapy: new target identified

QIMR Berghofer researchers have discovered why some melanoma patients do not respond well to...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd