Nominations open for new HESTA awards

Tuesday, 09 June, 2020

Nominations open for new HESTA awards

HESTA has announced the inaugural HESTA Excellence Awards, which will celebrate the dedicated professionals working in disability, allied health, aged care and community services.

With a $60,000 prize pool up for grabs, the new awards will help shine a spotlight on the extraordinary work being done across these four sectors to enhance the health and wellbeing of individuals, families and communities.

HESTA CEO Debby Blakey said these professionals deserve to be recognised and rewarded for their life-changing work.

“Every day professionals working across these sectors deliver outstanding care and support for Australians, improving their quality of life,” Blakey said.

“From providing rehabilitation therapy, counselling or personal care to alleviating poverty and disadvantage, these are just a few examples of the excellent work these professionals do that makes a real difference to people’s lives.

“HESTA is thrilled to help celebrate these incredible people and their achievements through these new awards.”

Anyone working in the four sectors — allied health, disability services, aged care or community services — and involved in the delivery of exceptional care or service can nominate or be nominated for the Outstanding Organisation or Team Excellence categories.

The two categories will each have four winners, recognising excellence in the respective four health and community service sectors.

The eight winners will each receive $7500 for further education, service or team development from HESTA Awards sponsor ME Bank.

Nominations close on 2 August.

ME CEO Jamie McPhee said the bank was thrilled to partner with HESTA for these new awards to recognise more professionals across the allied-health, disability, aged-care and community services settings.

“These professionals provide a service vital to the Australian community. They are challenging roles that are also often under-recognised, which is why these awards are so important in shining a spotlight on the exceptional work they do.

“ME is incredibly honoured to have been supporting these awards since 2007, and we hope to continue doing so for many years to come.”

Winners will be announced at the awards dinner in Melbourne on Thursday, 26 November 2020, subject to COVID-19 safety restrictions.

For more information or to submit a nomination, visit

Image courtesy of HESTA.

Related News

Drink slows disease progression in early-stage Alzheimer's

A nutritional drink has been found to slow the decline of cognition, function, brain atrophy and...

Report highlights value of preventing and reducing stroke

A Stroke Foundation report has found that preventing stroke and improving access to treatment and...

CSIRO solution creates smarter, safer homes for independent seniors

CSIRO has developed a new health monitoring solution that will enable older Australians living...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd