HESTA Excellence Awards — nominations open

Wednesday, 10 March, 2021

HESTA Excellence Awards — nominations open

Ahead of the 2021 HESTA Excellence Awards in August, HESTA is calling for nominations of dedicated professionals working in disability, allied health, aged care and community services. The national awards celebrate professionals from each sector who are committed to achieving outstanding health outcomes for Australians, with a $60,000 prize pool up for grabs.

HESTA CEO Debby Blakey said the ongoing battle with COVID-19 has demonstrated the critical importance of allied health, disability services, aged-care and community services professionals in protecting and supporting their communities, as well as to our economic recovery.

“These amazing professionals are supporting Australians to stay healthy and well, and our economy to remain resilient and productive. They’ve often delivered the very highest standards of care in the most challenging of circumstances,” Blakey said.

“Their work is exceptional and should be recognised nationally. I’m very proud HESTA can help share their stories, their achievements and bring greater awareness to the wide-ranging impact they have had on so many lives.”

Anyone working in the four sectors — allied health, disability services, aged care or community services — who is involved in the delivery of exceptional care or service can nominate or be nominated in the Outstanding Organisation or Team Excellence categories. An independent judging panel comprising sector representatives will choose a winner from each sector and for each category. Nominations close Sunday, 2 May.

Each of the eight winners will take home $7500 — donated by longstanding awards supporter ME, the bank for you — to be put towards professional development or development of their chosen initiative.

ME CEO Adam Crane said the bank was very proud of its HESTA Awards program partnership, which began in 2007.

“This is such an important award,” Crane said. “It recognises the resilience and commitment of these unsung heroes, the local legends who help us at every stage of our lives — from birth to old age and even through a pandemic. We applaud every one of this year’s future nominees.”

Finalists will be announced on 27 July 2021 and winners revealed at the awards ceremony in Melbourne on 25 August 2021, subject to COVID safety restrictions.

For more information or to submit a nomination, visit hestaawards.com.au.

Image caption: 2019 HESTA Aged Care Awards winners.

Related News

New trial hopes to improve care for rare cancer

A Flinders University-led project trial aims to improve care for people with neuroendocrine...

New Penrith hospital opens its doors to patients

The new Somerset Private Hospital with capacity to care for 600 patients a month has opened its...

New research centre to strengthen aged-care delivery

A new $34 million research centre to open next year at Flinders University in Adelaide hopes to...

  • All content Copyright © 2022 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd