Aged-care providers welcome new National Aged Care Advisory Council

Friday, 26 November, 2021

Aged-care providers welcome new National Aged Care Advisory Council

Seventeen Australians have been appointed to the National Aged Care Advisory Council (NACAC) to provide expert advice on aged-care issues and the implementation of the $17.7 billion reform agenda in response to the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety.

Led by inaugural chair Andrea Coote, the Council will ensure aged-care reforms meet the needs and expectations of senior Australians, their families and carers, and the Australian community.

Minister for Health and Aged Care Greg Hunt said, “This Advisory Council will play a key role in guiding that implementation, alongside a new Council of Elders and an Inspector-General of Aged Care.”

Council of Elders nominations have been received and the membership of this representative body will be announced later this year. The Council of Elders will be led by inaugural Chair Ian Yates, AM, who will also sit on the Advisory Council.

Three working groups will be established to support the Advisory Council — the Workforce Advisory Working Group, the Quality Advisory Working Group and the Financing and Markets Advisory Working Group.

Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care Services Senator Richard Colbeck said, “Aged care in Australia is undergoing its most significant reform in a generation.

“Strength through representation is key to ensuring these changes are made in the best interests of senior Australians and those who care for them.”

The Advisory Council members will advise on issues from navigating aged-care services to building the capability of providers and the workforce to deliver the government’s reforms.

“Our intention is to ensure we have strong representation across five consumer groups including Indigenous, culturally and linguistically diverse, carers and advocacy groups,” Minister Colbeck said.

The Advisory Council will also provide a voice for home-care, community and private providers along with a representative of the peak group Australian Aged Care Collaboration. National Aged Care Advisory Council Members are:

  • Andrea Coote (National Advisory Council Chair)
  • Ian Yates AM (Council of Elders Chair)
  • Rachel Argaman
  • Michael Baird AO
  • Jennene Buckley
  • Elizabeth Callaghan
  • Andrew Condon
  • Jill Gallagher AO
  • Emma Hossack
  • Dr Sandra Iuliano
  • Claerwen Little
  • Libby Lyons
  • Maree Mccabe AM
  • Gail Mulcair
  • Assoc Prof Michael Murray
  • Mary Patetsos
  • Graeme Prior

The Australian Aged Care Collaboration (AACC), a group of six aged-care peak bodies — Aged & Community Services Australia (ACSA), Anglicare Australia, Baptist Care Australia, Catholic Health Australia, Leading Age Services Australia (LASA) and UnitingCare Australia — welcomed the establishment of the Council as recommended by the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety and announced by the federal government. The collaboration said they were thrilled to have Claerwen Little, Chair of the AACC and National Director, UnitingCare Australia, as their representative.

“As a sector we are deeply concerned with the progress of the reform process to date, including the lack of a detailed plan and limited genuine engagement with key stakeholders who have much to contribute to the design of our new aged-care system,” the AACC said in a statement.

“Although the establishment of the Council is five months later than the government’s published plan, the sector has high expectations. We expect the Council to be responsible for the design of the reform program and accountable for its delivery. Engaging all stakeholders in key decisions that affect them and transparently reporting progress to the community.”

Image credit: ©

Related Articles

  • All content Copyright © 2022 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd